What we do

We are the Information, Advice and Guidance team, supporting all learners in their search for Further Education, Higher Education, Full Time and Part Time studies. If you are still in school, you may see our advisors delivering presentations and workshops, and attending parents’ evenings and careers fairs in your school. We also arrange taster sessions, support with open events and are available to discuss your options either by phone, email, or in person in our Information Unit at Old Mill Lane.

Please get in touch with our friendly advisors – you can contact the advisor who supports your school, or ring us on 01226 216123. Alternatively, pop in to our Information Unit between 8.30am – 5.00pm, Monday to Friday, to talk to us.

Meet the team

Olivia Johnson Tel: 01226 216 376

Email: o.johnson@barnsley.ac.uk

– Darton Academy

– Stocksbridge

– Penistone Grammar School

– Shelley College

– Bradfield School

– Holmfirth High School

Olivia Johnson
Ashley Gillow Tel: 01226 216 284

Email: a.gillow@barnsley.ac.uk

On Maternity Leave until November 2022 Ashley Gillow
Garry Lyon Tel: 01226 216 609

Email: g.lyon@barnsley.ac.uk

– Kirk Balk

– Netherwood Academy

– St. Pius

– Wath Academy

– Laurel Academy

– Hinde House

Garry Lyon
Jo Thornton Tel: 01226 216 292

Email: j.thornton@barnsley.ac.uk

– Barnsley Academy

– Outwood Academy Carlton

– Ecclesfield School

– Kettlethorpe High School

– Cathedral Academy

Jo Thornton
Michael McHugh Tel: 01226 216 255

Email: m.mchugh@barnsley.ac.uk

– Crofton Academy

– Higher Education

– Primary Schools

– Greenacre

– Springwell

Michael McHugh
Leanne Ingham

Tel: 01226 216 663

Email: l.ingham@barnsley.ac.uk

– Horizon Community College

– Astrea Dearne

– Holy Trinity

– Outwood Academy Hemsworth

– Minsthorpe Community College

Holly Bentley
Tel Number: 01226 216835

Email: h.bentley@barnsley.ac.uk

– Outwood Academy Shafton

– Trinity Academy St. Edward’s

– Higher Education