What we do

We are the Information, Advice and Guidance team, supporting all learners in their search for Further Education, Higher Education, Full Time and Part Time studies. If you are still in school, you may see our advisors delivering presentations and workshops, and attending parents’ evenings and careers fairs in your school. We also arrange taster sessions, support with open events and are available to discuss your options either by phone, email, or in person in our Information Unit at Old Mill Lane.

Please get in touch with our friendly advisors – you can contact the advisor who supports your school, or ring us on 01226 216123. Alternatively, pop in to our Information Unit between 8.30am – 5.00pm, Monday to Friday, to talk to us.

Meet the team

Sharon Hellewell (Student Recruitment Manager) Tel: 01226 216 829

Email: s.hellewell@barnsley.ac.uk

Olivia Johnson  ext. 376 Tel: 01226 216 376

Email: o.johnson@barnsley.ac.uk

-Holy Trinity
-Darton Academy
-Stocksbridge
-Shelley College
-Bradfield School
-Holmfirth High School
Olivia Johnson
Ashley Gillow   ext. 284 Tel: 01226 216 284

Email: a.gillow@barnsley.ac.uk

-Higher Education
Ashley Gillow
Garry Lyon  ext. 609 Tel: 01226 216 609

Email: g.lyon@barnsley.ac.uk

-Kirk Balk
-Netherwood Academy
-St. Pius
-Wath Academy
-Laurel Academy
-Hinde House
Garry Lyon
Jo Thornton  ext. 292 Tel: 01226 216 292

Email: j.thornton@barnsley.ac.uk

-Barnsley Academy
-Outwood Academy Carlton
-Ecclesfield School
-Kettlethorpe High School
-Cathedral Academy
Jo Thornton
Michael McHugh  ext. 255 Tel: 01226 216 255

Email: m.mchugh@barnsley.ac.uk

-Crofton Academy
-Higher Education
-Primary Schools
-Greenacre
-Springwell
-St. Edwards Trinity Academy
Michael McHugh
Leanne Ingham ext. 663

Tel: 01226 216 123

Email: l.ingham@barnsley.ac.uk

-Horizon Community College
-Astrea Dearne
-Outwood Academy Hemsworth
-Minsthorpe Community College
Carla Whitehead ext. 835

 

-Outwood Academy Shafton
-Penistone Grammar School
-Winterhill
-Rawmarsh
-Swinton Academy
-Wingfield
Carla